Articles

Fresh Air

In Status on August 20, 2011 by netritious


Had a nasty storm come through earlier in the week, I think Tuesday Aug 16, sometime in the AM.

I have various UPS units distributed around my computer and networking equipment to give me enough time to crank up a generator in anticipation of extended periods of power failure. However, on Tuesday, I was able to shut every computer down and not worry about it. (I did use my laptop that has a good 1-1.5 hour battery life on full charge.)

Four days later and I still haven’t turned on the primary server which has faithfully hosted VMware Server 1.0.x and several VMs for the past two years on Ubuntu Hardy 8.04 LTS. I was able to leave the VMware Server host off because the previous Sunday the last of my hosted clients were finally moved to other hosted services ergo I no longer answer to others regarding my equipment.

What’s next? Hair cut, new suit, updated resume, and some job hunting. In the meantime I still have to:

  1. Finish my HTPC setup and clean up the mess left by it in the living room
  2. Use VMware Converter to clone my 1.6 year old installation of Windows 7 to the HTPC
  3. Install VMware Workstation 7 on the HTPC (which I got on sale for $151)
  4. Finish the surround sound speaker installation.
  5. Build a PC from some used parts for a low-income family in my neighborhood who qualified for Comcast’s $10 service. (Installing Ubuntu of course.)
  6. Upgrade daughter’s PC. Most likely will install Ubuntu but not 100% certain of that yet.
  7. Finish configuring the Cisco 871/877/878.
  8. Clean out the home office in preparation of refactoring my existing equipment.
  9. Do the yard: Cut grass, trim hedges, pull weeds, and edge yard. Also spray lawn/driveway/porch. Move a hydrangea. Need new mulch too but think I’ll wait till this fall when I plan moving a 1/4 ton of dirt to the back yard to level it out and fill some doggy holes.
  10. Finally (and permanently) setup my drum kit.

A fine breath of fresh air after a two year storm of hands on research, time consuming clients,  and random Comcast outages — which at the moment I don’t have to worry about any of it one iota.

Saoirse Fada Beo!

Comments Off on Fresh Air

